We all at some or other stage of our life will experience loss and this is part of our human experience. It is a normal part of our life. Grief is necessary to move through the stages to find the deeper meaning of a loss of a loved one or death of a pet or even after a separation or divorce .

Grief is universal yet distinctive.

If grief is not experienced with our feelings we stay stuck in emotions .

The grieving process is active and passive. Grief is passive as in that the loss , death is thrust upon us . We feel we have no choice and emotionally it will affect us. Grief is also active as we choose how we respond to our loss and there are definite steps we take to cope with the loss and its normal and healthy as we move through the MOURNING PROCESS.

THE PRELUDE to the grieving process is.

  • Shock
  • Denial

“this is not happening to me “ for instance or “the doctor is wrong” . The loss of control is most likely the hardest to deal with. Then we have the stage of EMOTIONAL RELEASE.

THESE are feelings like guilt, anger, bargaining, isolation, hopelessness, bitterness, frustration, worrying , pain and revenge. With ANGER we mask the emotions of the deep pain of loss . With BARGAINING with God /Spirit/the Universe we deal with statements like

“I should have, I ought to have…I could have….if only I did etc “

But all of these statements will not change the outcome.

DEPRESSION is a quiet stage of grief with feelings of isolation, confusion , deep sorrow and sadness and it is a normal stage of the mourning process. Its not healthy to not reach out to a loved one, a friend or group of support or a trusted grieving coach, therapist to have the support we need at this stage.  We will otherwise stay stuck in the emotion and our thoughts will cause us even more suffering . Its not advisable to suffer over our suffering as we are not victims or martyrs in life.

And eventually we will move into ACCEPTANCE. Then we have the upward turn to move forward again in life. Its not a happy end but we are ready to move on , move forward in our life.

Acceptance means we can see a future for ourselves, we find new meaning in life, we have new goals and passions. We have allowed ourselves healing !

We are transformed and have a deeper knowledge of how much stronger , resilient , and compassionate we have become with new faith and hope.

Grief is often experiences differently by different people as we often revisit a certain stage over time and the stages hit us differently like a wave that comes and goes .When we know the stages we know where we are in the mourning process and we can figure out when we will be done with the grieving process.

We need to watch ourselves in not neglecting our health i.e. eating healthily , exercising, getting out into nature and seeing to it that we have enough sleep , iow a healthy balance and routine to our life. Praying for our loved ones or people we have been divorced from is a compassionate act and practising meditation and forgiveness will keep us in the Light. 

Acceptance is also when we realize we have been changed but not defeated and we are stronger for this experience .

Be proud of yourself and to go through a mourning process is the hardest experience and journey  we need to live and experience .

For individual assistance and coaching in your grieving process , whats app us on.+27728807904

For workshops see the EVENTS PAGE on this website https://mariettatheunissen.com


%d bloggers like this: